Vogue Announces 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees

Vogue has announced the nominees for this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards as well as the annual special honorees.

According to an article on Fashionista, Vogue has announced the nominees for this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards at an event on Thursday. Vogue also announced the names of the annual special honorees.

Vogue published an article announcing the nominees in which Editor Steff Yotka says,

After weeks of voting, the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards nominees and honorees have been announced. Diane von Furstenberg held court at Ramscale Studio in New York’s West Village tonight where the list of innovators, disruptors, and game changers was presented. Some are first-time nominees—like Off-White’s Virgil Abloh—others already have several CFDA statuettes on their shelves.


Designers and other people in fashion gathered at the event to find out which designers might win an award at the CFDA Fashion Awards this year. The nominees, as usual, include quite a few well known brands and designers like Mansur Gavriel, who won Accessories Deigner of the Year last year, and Raf Simons. There are, however, the nominees for the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent. One of which is Brock Collection, who won the CFDA Vogue Fashion Fund last year.

Vogue included womenswear, menswear, and accessories designers together in the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent for the first time this year. Designers and brands were previously nominated separately. The publication also announced the Swarovski Award for Positive Change to honor a designer who has had a positive impact on fashion.

Here is the full list of nominees for the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards.

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack Mccollough for Proenza Schouler, Marc Jacobs, Mary-Kate and Ashely Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Robert Geller, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year

Stuart Vevers for Coach, Irene Neuwirth, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Paul Andrew, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent

Laura Vassar and Kris Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Swarovski Award for Positive Change

Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Rick Owens

Founders Award

Pat McGrath

International Award

Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga

Fashion Icon Award

Franca Sozzani

Board of Directors’ Tribute

Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monae

The CFDA Fashion Awards will be held on June 5th in New York.

So, what do you think? Do you like the CFDA Fashion Awards? Let me know in the comments below. Also, don’t forget to subscribe to get new posts sent directly to your inbox and follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat.

Image Sources: (Featured Image)

Got any tips? Send them to me here and it may be featured in a post! tips@hauteecriture.com
1 Comment

Leave a Comment